My Mission Statement

 

Vision for anything is important because it gives you a standard to base your actions on. I realized recently that, though I have a purpose for my blog, I haven’t communicated it loud and clear.

I questioned some previous posts because of personal biases – or worse – what other people think of me. It’s with these questions that I realized I first and foremost needed to stand by my work, even if some people don’t completely agree with it. I then decided I needed to communicate to my readers what I’m trying to accomplish so they can read my blog through that lens.

So, here it goes:

The point of The Barista Blogs, no matter what the cool thing in coffee is, or who gets along with whom in the community, is to support quality coffee culture, especially in Nashville. I want baristas and coffee lovers to think about how and why they enjoy their coffee so they can share the experience together.  I want people’s love for coffee and the community to be encouraged and grown through reading my blog.

This mission statement means a few things.

1) I’m going to be a little tighter on my topics. If it doesn’t fit into what my mission is about, then you won’t find it here.

2) If it does make it on here it means I’ve thought long and hard about it and I fully stand by what I wrote – like it or not.

But, most importantly it means –

3) We can all communicate a lot more effectively, and maybe even spur some conversations, because we all want to see the coffee community in Nashville improve and succeed.

So, please, I urge you to comment and ask more questions. If I have something to say, you bet I’ll say it. And if I don’t, well then maybe I’ll write a blog about that too.

About Chelsea Kallman

I am a Barista Journalist - a baristaist, journalista, barnalist? Anyway you pour it, I love coffee and writing about the whereabouts, who-abouts and what-abouts of it. Follow me @chelseakallman on Twitter! View all posts by Chelsea Kallman

Leave a Reply

